The concept of a recycle bin for your deleted digital files is older than you may realize, and we have all grown accustomed to the safety that it provides. With the recent update to Moodle 3.2, we now have this functionality in the CLE! This means you can breathe a little easier when editing activities and resources in your course, because deleted items are recoverable.
- Click the “Turn editing on” button in your course, then click the Edit link next to an activity or resource, and choose Delete.
- After a few moments, refresh the page, and then you’ll see the “Recycle bin” appear at the bottom of the Administration block, click it.
- All of your deleted items will appear there. To restore an item to the course home page, click its corresponding Restore icon. To permanently delete an item, click the X button, or just allow the automatic deletion to happen in 14 days.
- Items only stay in the Recycle bin for 14 days. After this time, they’re are automatically deleted from the system, and gone for good!
- Section headers are not recoverable when deleted. Use labels, instead.
- You have to refresh the page after deleting your first item, before the recycle bin becomes visible. Also, it could take a minute or two for the deletion process to complete, especially if the resource or activity was large or complex.
More information about the Recycle Bin can be found in our Support Center: